top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarvin

After the 2016 Brussels Attack

Today it's two years ago Brussels airport (Zaventem) and the Maalbeek subway station were hit by bombs. This post is my commemoration, as I remember vividly how shocked I was and worried about friends living there. A few days later I went to Brussels. Here are my impressions. (View these images in Stories)

In the morning of 22 March 2016, three coordinated suicide bombings occurred in Belgium: two at Brussels Airport in Zaventem, and one at Maalbeek metro station in central Brussels. The attacks claimed a total of 34 dead and 230 wounded. That week I traveled to the city to see what the atmosphere was like.



One of the reasons I wanted to go to Brussels was the media coverage. They made it a hype; "don't believe the hype". So I had to see for myself.


Police officers were very friendly...





















...at least towards a tourist with a camera. And don't let this photo fool you. There was a general friendly atmosphere. As common in Belgium.









Also these soldiers were friendly. They politely asked me to make their faces unrecognizable. Other forces told me not to photograph them at all.








Streetlife always goes on as usual.











Whatever happens, life goes on for most people. We keep babbling, drinking, polluting. Life isn't (social) media hypes.








I found this lost (or discarded??) green book with title and scripture in Arabic on the floor. Personally I was touched by this. Out of some sort of respect I guess, I layed it in a window ledge. Maybe the rightfull owner would find it. or someone who would be able and appreciate reading it.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page